The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-08-2022, 10:51 PM

Default Taylor 814ce vs Furch Red deluxe - purchase advice?

Hi experts,
I recently started learning guitar again after 9 years but my old guitar is no longer in good shape so I went to a local guitar shop and tried some guitars. After some hard A/B tests I decide to choose a one between Used Taylor 814ce dlx and New Furch Red deluxe (btw the armrest on Taylor and Furch looks really great). This is my first time trying Furch guitars (surprisingly I prefer the sound of the Furch Red over 814ce I am a newbie and I could be wrong about the sound). Whats your opinion?

So the price for the brand new red deluxe is priced at $3500 which sounds like a great deal for me since it is like $3800 on reverb. And the used 814ce dlx is priced at $2600 which also looks like a good deal. Also I noticed that Furch has a non-deluxe model which does not come with a beveled armrest. Do you guys think the armrest worth the extra $500?

I'm more interested in finger-picking but I do occasionally accompany myself.
So I could really use some advice from you guys in terms of both sound and cost effectiveness. Thanks!
Old 01-09-2022, 12:38 AM

These two were on my short list as well. Played them both, along with a number of others, but instantly new the Furch was something special when I played it. The Furch still gets me excited every time I look at it or pick it up.
Old 01-09-2022, 02:50 AM

I have a Furch (Yellow) and sincerely wish it had an arm bevel. The reason is that I love this guitar so much I play it a lot and end up cutting off the circulation in my right hand (tingly pins and needles). Easily remedied by taking breaks, but the comfort of a bevel would be just great, I think.