The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 10-10-2018, 02:40 PM

Default What strings are most mello?

I am a beginner playing a angel lopez model c1148s-ced classical guitar with factory installed strings, the bass strings are great, warm and mello, the higher strings are bright and the E actually almost tinny. Which strings should I buy to get that warm, rich mello sound across the set?
Old 10-10-2018, 02:51 PM

Welcome, I've been creeping this forum for years, but I'll tell you that most people comment on steel string acoustics. To be honest, my first thought is that if you say classical strings and tinny in the same breathe, then you're probably not going to get the best answer here.
Old 10-10-2018, 03:09 PM

Default Thank you for responding

I am too new at all this to know the proper descriptive terms and apologize for the term tinny but I knew no other term to describe the sound.
Thank you for the link I will go there.
Old 10-10-2018, 05:12 PM

Possibly clear nylon, low tension strings.
Old 10-10-2018, 05:34 PM

Default Thank you Bax

Thank you Bax, any recommendation for a good brand?
Old 10-10-2018, 06:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazymjs View Post
...the higher strings are bright and the E actually almost tinny. Which strings should I buy to get that warm, rich mello sound across the set?
I've found Aquila Alabastro strings to have very mellow trebles (the "normal" tension set). Also La Bella 2001 medium tension strings.

Please keep in mind that strings respond differently to every guitar and also to every guitarist.

lazymjs, don't just rely on the strings (not that you are, I'm just saying, generally)... work on right hand technique to get a pleasing sound regardless of the strings.
Old 10-10-2018, 06:59 PM

La Bella 2001 Classical Light
Old 10-10-2018, 10:31 PM