The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-31-2023, 03:27 AM

Default Fishman Neo HB + Baggs Para DI vs Baggs M80? (+ on 12 strings?)

I currently have Fishman Neo HB and run it through Baggs Para DI. I often find myself using the EQ to fix what I don't like about the pickup (try to cut out the mud and boost some presence). Would upgrading to Baggs M80 allow me to ditch the DI, as a tone shaper at least?

And bonus question, I've been reading about magnetic pickups not working well with 12 strings. On the other hand, I've compared recording Fishman pickup to Sennheiser MD421 (best mic I own) , and I admit I couldn't say one was absolutely better than the other. However I'm a newb to acoustics, so could very well be plenty of operator errors....... Anyway, would again upgrade from Fishman to Baggs with its body sensing coil be of any upgrade?
Old 01-31-2023, 10:21 AM
Charter Member

Hi andrus, IMO, the Baggs M80 will be a big upgrade. The Baggs as you mentioned has a body sensing coil, as well as adjustable polepieces (this is important), can be active or passive and is again IMO, a better sounding pickup.

As far as ditching your Baggs Para, you can especially since the M80 is active. However, if you are picky (and I am) you're probably still going to need it for tone shaping. I use the M80 and to my ears, it still needs external eq.

Bonus question answer, because of the octave strings on the 12 string, it is sometimes difficult to dial in a balanced sound with magnetic pickups. It doesn't mean it won't work...as you stated, you couldn't hear a difference in your recording.

Hope this helps

Martin 000-1
Rainsong CH-OM
Martin SC10e sapele

My Band's Spotify page https://open.spotify.com/artist/2KKD...SVeZXf046SaPoQ

Last edited by jricc; 01-31-2023 at 10:44 AM.
Old 02-03-2023, 10:21 AM

Default M80 first impressions