The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-16-2017, 04:23 PM

Default Tip on Finding Notes in Chord Shapes

This is for pseudo-beginners who get that scales have degrees and what a third, fifth, and octave is and how minor chords are different from major ones, etc. This is about voicings, which are the order that the notes are played in within a chord. This tip was a revelation to me when I started learning theory, oh, way back last month.

Beginners often start learning chords with the "put your fingers here and strum like this" approach without really knowing what they are playing. For me, it was a just a mass of random confusion when I first started and I'm terrible at memorizing masses of disconnected info so I need to understand the system behind it. If you understand what the chord shapes are, you can understand how to make new chords, how majors relate to minors, what the heck sus chords are, the difference between C7 and Cmaj7, etc.

Here's the tip (discovered on LicknRiff video on youtube): In a standard tuned guitar, there are just 2 normal voicings (order the notes are played in) for chords. One for the G shape chords (G - the 3-finger one, C, and that little open F under the open C that you play before you can barre) and one for all the other shapes (E, A, D, barre based on them, etc.)

From the low string to the high one, G shapes chords are played in order 1, 3, 5, 8 (like on a piano). Root, 3rd, 5th, octave. The extra strings, if all strings are played, are 3, 8. So, a 6 string chord, G (the one with three fingers), is playing the notes in the order from low to high as 1,3,5,8,3,8 (GBDGBG). The 5-string C cuts off that last string to play 1,3,5,8,3. The 4-string little F is 1,3,5,8. Get it?

All the other chord shapes including the barres based on them are played 1, 5, 8, 3, (5, 8), with an octave between the 5th and 3rd so six string E is EBEGBE.