The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-01-2010, 11:09 AM

Default Focusrite or PreSonus? Trying to decide between 2 firewire interfaces

For my $300 budget, I've narrowed it down to the Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 or the PreSonus FireStudio Mobile 10x6. I'm just a hobbyist, and relatively new to recording, mixing, etc. Any pros out there, don't cringe, but I really like GarageBand. (I'm not looking to sell CD's. That, and I've only been playing for 2 years!)

My main requirement is to be able to be able to plug in 2 mics and 2 guitars all at the same time, and record them to individual tracks. Either one of these can do that (unless I've really misunderstood their capabilities!)

Beyond that, I guess it boils down to the included software and/or other included goodies.

If anybody has any insight or opinions, I'm open to suggestion!

Oh, if it matters, I'm on a fast MacBook Pro, 2.4 Ghz running 10.6.2, with 4 GB RAM. It's not the newest rig, as it has ports for Firewire 400 and 800. (New ones no longer come with Firewire 400)

Here's the Focusrite:
Saffire Pro 24

and the PreSonus:
FireStudio Mobile 10 x 6

Thanks!

Jeff
Old 03-01-2010, 12:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_strumalot View Post
For my $300 budget, I've narrowed it down to the Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 or the PreSonus FireStudio Mobile 10x6. I'm just a hobbyist, and relatively new to recording, mixing, etc. Any pros out there, don't cringe, but I really like GarageBand. (I'm not looking to sell CD's. That, and I've only been playing for 2 years!)

My main requirement is to be able to be able to plug in 2 mics and 2 guitars all at the same time, and record them to individual tracks. Either one of these can do that (unless I've really misunderstood their capabilities!)

Beyond that, I guess it boils down to the included software and/or other included goodies.