The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-27-2020, 05:27 PM

Default Home recording studio/device

Hi,
I’ve got a Zoom HD8 recording studio. I don’t think they make it anymore. Anyway, it’s got 8 channels, 2 inputs, built in CD burner. I’m an acoustic guitarist/vocalist and I got this thing a few years back to record myself for practice, make personal CDs, etc. The problem is, I never felt comfortable with this unit. I find the overall interface confusing and the users manual, to me, is hard to follow. So, I’m looking for suggestions on a replacement. What I do is simple acoustic stuff. 1 vocal mic and I’ve been micing my guitar. I find going directly in with a cable sounds crappy. Any thoughts?
Thanks
Old 01-27-2020, 08:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Folkrocket View Post
Hi,
I’ve got a Zoom HD8 recording studio. I don’t think they make it anymore. Anyway, it’s got 8 channels, 2 inputs, built in CD burner. I’m an acoustic guitarist/vocalist and I got this thing a few years back to record myself for practice, make personal CDs, etc. The problem is, I never felt comfortable with this unit. I find the overall interface confusing and the users manual, to me, is hard to follow. So, I’m looking for suggestions on a replacement. What I do is simple acoustic stuff. 1 vocal mic and I’ve been micing my guitar. I find going directly in with a cable sounds crappy. Any thoughts?
Thanks
If you're looking to do a vocal and guitar simultaneously I recommend the Zoom R8. You should download the manual and watch a few Youtube demos, but it's not much more difficult than using a cassette recorder. (remember those?)
Old 01-27-2020, 11:32 PM
Eric Skye