The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-03-2014, 11:25 AM

Default ship to martin or authorized repair?

I've got a d-28 1935sp, the 1993 reissue that I've maintained in perfect condition. Noticed a very small top center separation (1 1/2") between the endblock and first sound bar. The crack extends just in the finish above and below the separation. I'd like martin to do the repair but customer service estimated a 3-4 month turn around. The nearest authorized repair shop is a couple hours away and I have no experience with this repair center. The shop I normally use and trust for their quality work offered to do the repair and suggested my pushing martin to foot the bill. I'm apprehensive about shipping my guitar, martin's timeframe really stinks, but given the quality of this guitar is having martin do the repair the wisest thing to do?
Old 11-03-2014, 12:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by adkroot View Post
I've got a d-28 1935sp, the 1993 reissue that I've maintained in perfect condition. Noticed a very small top center separation (1 1/2") between the endblock and first sound bar. The crack extends just in the finish above and below the separation. I'd like martin to do the repair but customer service estimated a 3-4 month turn around. The nearest authorized repair shop is a couple hours away and I have no experience with this repair center. The shop I normally use and trust for their quality work offered to do the repair and suggested my pushing martin to foot the bill. I'm apprehensive about shipping my guitar, martin's timeframe really stinks, but given the quality of this guitar is having martin do the repair the wisest thing to do?