The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 03-13-2016, 05:43 PM

Default Which one of these is the higher-end guitar? (BLIND TEST)

NOTE: The Guitars are revealed on post #48

I just made a blind test video hoping to get some feedback from the community about which guitar most people here find having a more desirable sound. I'm not a professional but I played a few random passages (Should have asked someone who knows how to play, I know...) on two nylon string guitars (both have brand new EJ45 strings on them) and recorded myself with a pair of Line Audio CM3 microphones going into H4n, in a well treated room. I did no processing to the files other than normalize everything to -3 db.

People keep talking about diminishing returns when it comes to guitars, saying lots of cheap guitars can compete with expensive ones easily in a blind test. Well, I didn't find too many such tests and decided to create my own. Please, tell me about your preference, A or B, and if you care, comment about what kind of quality/price range these guitars you think belong to... Maybe mention the materials you think they're made of (maple, spruce, solid-top, all-solid, laminated, etc.). Take a guess about whatever sounds familiar to you. Should be fun!

I will identify the guitars really soon - once we have enough votes to make this worthwhile.

https://youtu.be/ET4fthCG5-Y

Last edited by S_Spruce; 03-18-2016 at 07:48 AM.
Old 03-13-2016, 07:01 PM

I'm not an audio guy, so I have to ask what is meant by normalizing to -3db.

Does that raise both guitars to the same sound level, or does that normalize the dead air, so the volume of the guitars is what we would hear relatively if we were in the same room comparing them?

Guitar B sounds kind of amped up to me, and I don't know if that is a characteristic of the guitar, or it was raised to be the same volume as guitar A.
thanks,
Mike