The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-30-2010, 02:29 PM

Default Chord Changes

I am a newbie here, and need some help in practicing chord changes. I seem to get bogged down in making a perfect chord rather than the change itself and then end up hesitating. I also get caught up in only using the same chords. Mostly G/A/C/D, and don't get past that beginner level. I guess I am looking for a tool to bring on that aha moment. Anyone have suggestions on some good excercises to strengthen my chord changes.

Thanks,

Taylor 110
Old 03-30-2010, 02:34 PM

I know this isn't always possible to do, but for me, the best thing for drilling fast changes is to play with other people. You can't slow down your changes and pretend it doesn't matter.

1977 Martin M-38
1982 Stelling Staghorn
2013 Larrivée D-40R
2014 Andrew White Eos 1011 (sold)
2016 Pisgah Possum
Old 03-30-2010, 02:34 PM

Do you know how to play the bar chords?
Old 03-30-2010, 02:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allman_Fan View Post
Do you know how to play the bar chords?
No I haven't learned any bar chords. I know the basic chords and a few minors. That is about it.

Taylor 110
Old 03-30-2010, 02:49 PM

You and I have much in common even though I've played off and on for 50 years, and I can play a few more chords than you admit to. (Certainly you must play E minor, 022000, right?)

About five weeks ago I started the Learn and Master Guitar course. It contains no magic, only a thorough deconstruction of guitar playing into its tedious basics.

The exercises I've done so far are mainly single note exercises and melodies. Some of the melodies include chord symbols; I'm already fairly fluent in most of the chords, even though the course hasn't addressed all of them yet.