The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 06-17-2018, 08:20 AM
Eric S. Eric S. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 394
Default

Had Phil done that at Augusta he would have been disqualified immediately.
__________________
Eric S.

Want little, and you shall have all you need.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-17-2018, 08:54 AM
6L6 6L6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,523
Default

Definitely deserved a DQ.

He DEFLECTED THE BALL when he rehit it and that's a clear violation and DQ.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-17-2018, 01:33 PM
EasyEd EasyEd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 648
Default

Hey All,

And equally disgusting they turned the golf course into a pitch and putt today.

The last day of a US Open should be hard and humble players.

-Ed-
__________________
...Spent all I had to buy this Martin
An I been richer since I did
Even though I can't afford to change the strings...

from Blaine Larsen's Song "If Merle Would Sing My Song"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-17-2018, 05:37 PM
IndyHD28 IndyHD28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Indiana
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyEd View Post
Hey All,

And equally disgusting they turned the golf course into a pitch and putt today.

The last day of a US Open should be hard and humble players.

-Ed-
So what can they do after yesterday’s circus of errors? They HAD NO CHOICE but to water the greens and ease up on pin positions. The proof that they got it right is that everyone is taking about the golf and not the golf course. Oh, and BTW, you must not have noticed that the winner shot +1 for the tournament. Right where the USGA wants it.
__________________
Consensus is defined as a lack of leadership.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-17-2018, 08:08 PM
dwalton dwalton is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Up North
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aknow View Post
Should have been a D/Q. He thought he was playing in a weekend gambling match? Do not respect him anymore.
Phhhht. He won’t be losing and sleep over losing your love. The course was crap, and everyone could see it. He played within the rules.

Last edited by Acousticado; 06-17-2018 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-17-2018, 08:36 PM
Otterhound Otterhound is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,954
Default

Let's face it . He's good and he plays lefty . Everyone knows that he should have learned to play righty .
Oh , what a travesty this was !
I think they should have forced him to play on without clubs .
I know , put him in the comfy chair ! lol
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-18-2018, 05:28 AM
KenL KenL is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: High Rockies
Posts: 1,074
Default

Oddly enough, Lefty is right-handed. He just plays left-handed. He can play right-handed, just prefers the sinister side.
__________________
KenL

1974 Alvarez 5023
1976 Alvarez-Yairi DY-74
1981 Guild D-46
2011 Santa Cruz 1929 00
Homemade Telecaster
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-18-2018, 07:41 AM
fray fray is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Commerce, TX
Posts: 50
Default

What he did is legal, just a 2 stroke penalty. Phil is a sportsman and knows the rules. The other golfer - Johnston - was really surprised, and I imagine he did what he did when he won last year, called his Mum and friends and proceeded to down a few pints. Good diversion from an other wise tough setup by USGA, glad it was on Saturday and not Sunday. Fans also need a lesson golf etiquette - but being close to NYC we get some different fan styles.....
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-18-2018, 08:26 AM
HodgdonExtreme HodgdonExtreme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 937
Default

What he did is NOT legal!!

The two stroke penalty ONLY applies when the action wasn't taken to gain an advantage.

Obviously that is subjective, but to my eyes, it seemed to me he did it because he thought a two stroke penalty would hurt less than what'd happen if he let the ball run off the green.....which is him having done it to gain an advantage.

Thus, it was an illegal action that should have earned him a DQ.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-18-2018, 08:56 AM
6L6 6L6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HodgdonExtreme View Post
What he did is NOT legal!!

The two stroke penalty ONLY applies when the action wasn't taken to gain an advantage.

Obviously that is subjective, but to my eyes, it seemed to me he did it because he thought a two stroke penalty would hurt less than what'd happen if he let the ball run off the green.....which is him having done it to gain an advantage.

Thus, it was an illegal action that should have earned him a DQ.
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-18-2018, 08:57 AM
6stringpickin 6stringpickin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oregon on the dry side
Posts: 335
Default

At least not as bad as putting Martin strings on a Taylor guitar!
__________________
Rick

"Reputation is made in a moment:Character is built in a lifetime."
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-18-2018, 09:38 AM
golfreggie's Avatar
golfreggie golfreggie is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PRINCETON, TX
Posts: 911
Default

David Duval of the golf channel and a former #1 presented that what Phil could have done and used the rules to his best advantage would have been to declare the resulting position of the putt "unplayable", and under the rules one option would have been to return to the original position and play again from there with a 1-shot penalty, which in all likelihood would have produced a lower score. I haven't looked it up, but did anyone else hear that from Duval?
__________________
Reggie
Taylor 2016 818E
2016 BREEDLOVE LEGACY DREAD COCOBOLO
2016 Taylor K26ce all Koa

Last edited by golfreggie; 06-18-2018 at 09:47 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-18-2018, 10:47 AM
IndyHD28 IndyHD28 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Indiana
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfreggie View Post
David Duval of the golf channel and a former #1 presented that what Phil could have done and used the rules to his best advantage would have been to declare the resulting position of the putt "unplayable", and under the rules one option would have been to return to the original position and play again from there with a 1-shot penalty, which in all likelihood would have produced a lower score. I haven't looked it up, but did anyone else hear that from Duval?
Yes and DD is absolutely correct. But that wouldn’t have rubbed the USGA’s nose in it, which was the entire point of his actions meaning he should have been DQ’d. That’s a good ruling to remember in your own play.
__________________
Consensus is defined as a lack of leadership.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-18-2018, 11:01 AM
rokdog49 rokdog49 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6,480
Default

All I know is that course reminded me of a lot of the garbage courses I have played on over the years and I thought it was funny watching all those Pro's
duffing and hacking all over the place.
__________________
Jamie

_________________
There is positivity in happiness...
...I positively choose to be happy.
Don't sweat the small stuff


Pono D 20 Sunburst SS
Martin D18
Gibson J45
Eastman E10 00 Sunburst
Fender Copper Burst Telecaster
The herd is getting thinner.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-18-2018, 11:18 AM
golfreggie's Avatar
golfreggie golfreggie is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PRINCETON, TX
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyHD28 View Post
Yes and DD is absolutely correct. But that wouldn’t have rubbed the USGA’s nose in it, which was the entire point of his actions meaning he should have been DQ’d. That’s a good ruling to remember in your own play.
I agree that Phil's point was to draw attention to the ridiculous conditions. And I tend to agree that since his intent was to influence the movement and not an accidental incident of hitting a ball that moved as a stroke was being made that the proper thing to do would be to DQ Phil. Even Phil can boo-boo and not behave in a manner that promotes the game. Can you imagine recreational golfers now running up to hit a bad putt to keep it from going off the green? Bad example by a good guy. I truly think he should fess up and apologize, it was not in the best interest of the game, and his intent was to influence the ball.
__________________
Reggie
Taylor 2016 818E
2016 BREEDLOVE LEGACY DREAD COCOBOLO
2016 Taylor K26ce all Koa

Last edited by golfreggie; 06-18-2018 at 11:21 AM. Reason: added content and spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=