The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 03-29-2018, 10:20 AM

Default Learning to play electric: artists I should look at?

So I've been an acoustic player for a long time but just getting into electric. I'm self taught on acoustic and planning to do the same for electric. That said I'm looking for particular songs/artists that would be good inspiration.

Some that I have already been looking at are Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, John Mayer. However, I'm not really familiar with a lot of artists. (23 years old and grew up listening to country) Also a lot of stuff that I really like is to difficult to play right now. I'm open to new stuff but primarily like bluesy lightly overdriven sounds. Right now Eric Clapton's live performance of Little Wing is one of my favorite guitar instrumentals.

So really just any suggestions on artists or songs that would fit along those lines would be appreciated!!
Old 03-29-2018, 10:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by adaw2821 View Post
So I've been an acoustic player for a long time but just getting into electric. I'm self taught on acoustic and planning to do the same for electric. That said I'm looking for particular songs/artists that would be good inspiration.

Some that I have already been looking at are Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, John Mayer. However, I'm not really familiar with a lot of artists. (23 years old and grew up listening to country) Also a lot of stuff that I really like is to difficult to play right now. I'm open to new stuff but primarily like bluesy lightly overdriven sounds. Right now Eric Clapton's live performance of Little Wing is one of my favorite guitar instrumentals.

So really just any suggestions on artists or songs that would fit along those lines would be appreciated!!