The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 06-11-2019, 04:27 PM
Charter Member

Default Building First Amplified Setup > Down the Rabbit Hole

First and foremost, thanks to all you who share your wealth of knowledge! I've learned a tremendous amount reading the Amplification forum.

I'm new to amplification, and oh boy, what a rabbit hole! This thread is really just me thinking out loud. I'm a bedroom strummer/fingerpicker/singer with a Gibson J45 Vintage (no pickup). I'm looking to put together my first amplified rig. I'm hoping it will help me improve my playing/singing and to prepare for some small group/open mic stuff, eventually. Occasionally, I play sing with a buddy, so the ability to plug in 2 mics & 2 guitars is a bonus.

I've read a lot about the recommended amps/pedals/mics/setups on the board. Initially, my wishlist was a LBM, Trance SBT p/u, TC Play Acoustic, Digitech Trio + or a Beatbuddy, and a tbd vocal mic. But, further reading has lead me another direction:

1) Bose S1 Pro or L1 Compact
2) Bose T1 Tonematch
3) DPA d:vote core 4099 or ATM350a microphone for guitar
4) Sennheiser e935 mic for vocals

I like the size and features of the S1 Pro, but a used L1 Compact is not much more. I'd like to pick up a T1 Tonematch regardless of which I get. The L1C would obviously give me room to grow. I like that both are very portable. The T1 would require plugin power regardless. I'd rather not have to deal with a stand for the S1.