The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 06-25-2017, 03:51 PM

Default Mugig Portable Battery Amp.

Ok I got to spend several hours today playing through this..

I put it up against a Fender PassPort Mini..
The passport held it's own in volume..
The room was app 40x50 clubhouse with 12 foot ceilings

The Mugig... put on 60% volume on both guitar and vocals.. 75% on master
it was plenty loud for this room with no noise other than me..

The amp works on battery only and the charger is just for that... there is no volume increase plugging in the charger..
Which a lot of these amps work both ways

I'm not good at these reviews... but here is the way I see it...
It sounds great
Vocal and Acoustic...
Plenty loud for small rooms with people
Light weight
Pole mount
angle cab...
Bluetooth...couldn't try it sorry
Nice to look at
small foot print

I really like it....

Next weekend I'll put it up against the Korg MMA130 I got coming and Ill link them for fun....
Old 06-25-2017, 05:02 PM

Thanks for posting about this amp. Do you think this compares well to a Cube Street or is it more a mobile cube?
How do you see the build quality?
How's the reverb?
How big and heavy as compared to the Passport Mini and AC33?
How long did you get on batteries at the gig?
How's the distortion sound when you overload it a little?
Which was louder, all in all, the Passport Mini or this?

Did you try the debugged out?<s>
Old 06-25-2017, 05:12 PM

The power brick is 13.8v/2000mah, right? I saw a youtube video a while ago where Lepai 2020 amp was bench tested and it put out 7.83w @ 2% distortion, if I remember correctly, that's per side I think. Its brick is 12v/2000mah.

I'll look for the video again.

Last edited by dannyg1; 06-25-2017 at 05:49 PM.
Old 06-25-2017, 05:16 PM

Really interesting! The size, the weight, especially the price. A fraction of the Roland AC33.