The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-15-2022, 09:10 AM

Default Carter Picking is "upside down?"

So I'm working on my bass runs, making a stab at getting halfway decent at Carter Picking.

Maybelle Carter played a style of chord melody where the melody was played on the bottom strings with a thumb pick, and the accompanying chords were "scratched" with the nail of her index finger across the top strings.

Other people, say Tommy Emmanuel, do a style of chord melody very similar to Chet Atkins & Merle Travis, where the fingers play the melody on the top three strings and the thumb plays the bass line on the bottom strings.

Now what little I know of classical guitar playing, classical guitar is similar to that Tommy, Chet, & Merle do.

Now given that Mother Maybelle was a self taught guitarist, what does that say about Carter Picking?
Eastman MD-514 Mandolin - spruce & maple
Kentucky KM-250 Mandolin - spruce & maple
Old 04-15-2022, 12:36 PM

I do that with a few songs but's easier to do on some songs than others whereas playing melody on the treble strings works with everything, it's just that when it does work it works well because the bass strings are louder so the melody really stands out from the chords.
I never really developed it beyond a few songs because for a lot of stuff I play fingering the chords on treble strings while playing melody on bass seemed too difficult , but maybe I just never tried hard enough.
Nobody taught me to do it that way but then nobody taught me to arrange with melody on the treble strings either.
Old 04-15-2022, 12:53 PM

Let's see - Maybelle Carter started playing (I wouldn't call her style chord melody) when? The other people (Tommy Emmanuel, Chet Atkins, Merle Travis) started when? Who's upside down?......
Old 04-15-2022, 01:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandobart View Post