The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 09-20-2021, 04:37 PM
bsman bsman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,032
Default

Strings can be changed?!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-20-2021, 04:52 PM
Rudy4 Rudy4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acousticado View Post
Stuff happens and I appreciate how. In my 46 years of playing, I’ve been lucky that I’ve never made a stringing mistake.
I thought I made a mistake once, but I was wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-20-2021, 06:06 PM
Horsehockey Horsehockey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdubs76 View Post
I checked at GC. No such luck.
Consider John Pearce strings next time. I broke my low E on my first string change ever due to my incompetence. Uh….why is this tuner so hard to turn? POP! Duh. I had purchased that set of strings from John Pearce so I called them and the only thing they asked me was to confirm my address and told me they’d have the replacement out in tomorrow’s mail. When the mail came three days later, the package seemed a tad heavy to contain a single string. And that’s because it didn’t. It contained a replacement string plus a whole new set. Gratis. How is that for customer service?
__________________
Bill

AMI-Guitars Left Handed DMC-1STEL 1
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-21-2021, 06:12 PM
Pura Vida Pura Vida is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northern CA & Costa Rica
Posts: 3,225
Default

Could be worse. At least strings are easy enough to change. I haven't switched the E and A strings, but one time, I swapped the G and D strings. I didn't notice until I was tuning both strings up to tension (surprisingly, nothing snapped), but before I cut them, so I was able to unwind them and switch them into their proper positions.
__________________
"It's only castles burning." - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-21-2021, 06:20 PM
Bushleague Bushleague is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 296
Default

I once watched a guy start a chainsaw with the brake on (good practice really), then forget about it and leave it warming up at a high idle untill the clutch burned out... compared to that a set of strings is pretty mild.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-21-2021, 06:36 PM
Shaneh Shaneh is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 360
Default

Similar but different, I was trying to clean the fretboard but didn’t want to change the strings since they were in good shape still, so loosened them up and removed from the bridge but not the headstock. I had never tried that before and when I when to restring I got the g string and the a string switched at the bridge and started tuning it up.

It took me a minute to figure out what was happening and fix it because the strings were right on the headstock
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=