The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-28-2019, 03:09 PM

Default How important is playing along the song?

I'm a newb and I can play a few songs but there are various pauses and mistakes each time I play. My former instructor advised me to play along the songs, played back at lower speeds. I find this somewhat cumbersome. What do you guys suggest for streamlining your playing?
Old 09-28-2019, 03:48 PM
Charter Member

Depends somewhat on the tune. In general break up the tune into sections (normally from beginning of piece onward) and work each section up to a reasonable tempo and reasonably error free. Then move on to the next section.

Most pieces can be learned faster then you might first think because there are various repetitions throughout most pieces of picking patterns and rhythms.

As you work on it you will identify spots where you are more likely to make an error and with a finer focus then available you can make repairs.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 09-29-2019, 11:49 AM
Guest 829

Playing along with the songs is fine but if you are new to the guitar getting these pauses is normal and will iron themselves out in time.

Some advice. If you can discipline yourself really work on parts that are hindering you at any one time. It is the quickest way to progress and it can be a waste of time playing parts you can play over and over.

Ultimately, if you are determined you can put it all together and usually by that time you are sick of the song - lol. But there is something satisfying and worthwhile in being able to play a complete song from start to finish.