The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-22-2019, 10:36 AM

Default My musings on Martin vs Taylor (part 1 - entry level)

A few precursors : this is long-winded; this is purely my opinion, and through lots of money spent and time with several guitars this is my conclusion for now. It doesn't mean I'm right, doesn't mean I'm wrong, but I'd like to help anybody wondering about these two brands at various price points. There are plenty of guitars out there that are not Taylor or Martin that are absolutely fantastic. Since these are the two that I've spent the most time with and a blinding majority of people compare these two brands head to head, I figured I'd give my three cents.

I don't usually do YouTube videos anymore (although this would be a good one if I still had all my models I've been through for sound tests). I've been playing for 18 years and besides an embarrassing amount of electric guitars I've owned the following acoustic guitars :

• Austin AU341 (very first guitar)
  • Yamaha FG412-S
  • Alvarez 5054 12-String
  • Fender Sonoran
  • Fender RD8
  • Yamaha FX335
  • Taylor Big Baby (on my first album)
  • Gretsch Sierra Jumbo
  • Yamaha FG402-S
  • Art & Lutherie Wild Cherry Cedar
  • Yamaha FG345II
  • Yamaha FG340
  • Epiphone DR-100
  • Yamaha FGX720SCA (this guitar goes to my grave, such a part of my life)
  • Yamaha FSX700SC
  • Yamaha FG 75
  • Yamaha APX500II
  • Jasmine S34C (I loved this little thing)
  • Jasmine S80
  • Martin 000X1AE
  • Martin DX1AE
  • Taylor 110E LTD
  • Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE (two different times)
  • Takamine EG341SC
  • Martin DCX1E
  • Taylor 210E
  • Alvarez RD80
  • Samick Greg Bennet Model OM4CE Eden Prairie
  • Taylor 710CE
  • Martin HD28-V
  • Gibson J-15
  • Taylor 214CE Deluxe
  • Martin HD-28
  • Martin D-35
  • Taylor 310CE
  • Martin GCPCA4R