The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-21-2019, 10:49 PM

Default Taylor Tour yesterday

I am in San Diego this week on vacation, I got to go visit Taylor yesterday.

I did take pictures, if I get a chance maybe I can share some.

The tour was led by a long time employee who is in charge of managing the wood/lumber. I should have remembered his name but didn’t, he was great.

They didn’t hold back anything on the tour. No question went unanswered, nothing was off limits they let people walk up and talk to some of the employees, it was pretty amazing. One of the employees was working on a prototype GA with ebony back and sides that was absolutely gorgeous and they didn’t shy away from letting us see that. At the end of the tour I was talking with an employee and when he found out what I do for a living he gave me an extra visit to the electronics room which is not normally shown as it’s too small to fit the tour group.

Not much V-class hype. They are pretty excited about the Grand Pacific though.

Speaking of the Grand Pacific. There were 33 people on the tour and only 2-3 of us played guitar or were at all interested. I got too play 2 of the Grand Pacific guitars for more than an hour. They were the only guitars not for sale, these days you can buy the guitars in the showroom. I don’t consider myself a dreadnaught guy for comfort reasons, but I really liked them, to the point I didn’t even try any of the GA guitars. I did try a couple of the Grand Concert models but they still didn’t have any of the new V-class GC models. The launch of those seems really weird. I like them but maybe they don’t sell.

They also telegraphed pretty clearly that none of the T5/T3 guitars are selling much. They said they turn out about 800 guitars a day and only 10-20 of them were the T5/T3 electrics.