The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-17-2010, 11:43 AM

Default questions before start building

Hello, everyone, I'm Jack. I'm also new to guitar making. Good to meet you all.

Now then, I'm hoping to make a dreadnought type guitar, using spruce for the front and Indian rosewood for the back and sides, but I am not sure what wood to use for the neck, any advice?
I am hoping for this as an end result:here

My main question: is there any way at all to build a guitar without any use of power tools?
Also, what tools can I get to replace the use of tools such as the band saw. And what hand tool should I use for cutting the soundhole?

EDIT:found answer to 2nd question
2nd, can I make a bridge without needing tuning pins (can I just make it where the ball end is holding string?)

I want to make the sides about 1/2 the length in the picture(so that would be about 2-2.5 inches).
Would that affect the sound of the guitar and/or the ability to bend the sides in any way?

Last edited by jackZ; 10-17-2010 at 05:34 PM.
Old 10-17-2010, 01:50 PM

Welcome, Jack. Many, many guitars are made with mahogany necks, if not most. There are other woods, and a number of luthiers here build with different neck woods. Look at the pictures pages on this site for ideas.
You could certainly build one without power tools. Guitars have been built for centuries without electricity. I just build from kits, and so I don't have to make my neck, cut, thickness, or bend sides, or dimension my neck, back,or top. All of those could conceivably be done by hand. I only use a router for cutting binding/purfling channels, but there is a tool, a "Schneider Gramil" at LMI's web site for that. And I use a bandsaw to trim my fretboard to the neck, but you could surely get around that and do it manually.