The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 11-06-2021, 11:59 AM
Charter Member

Default Emerald X-7 vs X-20

I'm new to the CF world, and now find myself interested in Emerald guitars. I don't really need the humidity resistance - though it would be nice to have one I could leave about the house year round. And I don't need a travel guitar, because my Little Jane fills that spot well. So my interest is mostly to find something tonally different from my current guitars.

I play finger style and have found 00 bodies to be the sweet spot for comfort and ease of play, although I do have an 0 and an OM. But, still prefer something around a 00. I'm looking at possibly an X-20, or an X-7. Hoping to get a feel for the size of these two guitars I made this comparison to some I already have, or have had:

e.jpg

What struck me first is the small size of the X-7. I know they refer to it as a parlor, but it seems even smaller than a Taylor GS Mini, which I once owned but sold because it was just too cramped. That may have been because of the narrow neck.

Emerald refers to the X-20 as a dreadnaught size, but it looks to me to be closer to an OM. And then there are the ergonomic features of the Emeralds that people talk about that make them more comfortable to play. So maybe they feel smaller than their size suggests?

I'd appreciate comments from any X-20 or X-7 owners about how the apparent size of those guitars compares to 0, 00 or OM size guitars you have. Does an X-20 feel about the same size as an OM, or would you say its between a 00 and OM? Does an X-7 feel more like an 0 than a 00?

TIA
Old 11-06-2021, 12:12 PM
Charter Member