The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-26-2022, 10:30 AM

Default Speed and acoustic guitars

So I got a question, I have been playing guitar for about 8-9 years now. I was really serious about playing when I started. I started late in life around 40. I was self taught and learned by just playing songs I like. Fast forward I started playing music with friends and then in a established band. This band is awesome for me however most of what play doesn’t require me to have fast speed on a guitar. I play mainly acoustic but I have been wanted to learn to be faster should I do this practice on an electric and then move to acoustic? It seems that the action on an acoustic can really slow you down. Any way just looking for some advice I think I may just practice it on acoustic but it really sounds bad compared to how I practice it on electric.
Old 03-26-2022, 10:36 AM
Charter Member

Practice like you're going to perform. In other words, do it on the acoustic.

Bourgeois DR-A / Bowerman "Working Man's" OM / Martin Custom D-18 (adi & flame) / Martin OM-21 / Northwood M70 MJ / 1970s Sigma DR-7 / Eastman E6D / Flatiron Signature A5 / Silverangel Econo A
(Call me Dan)
Old 03-26-2022, 10:40 AM