The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-05-2013, 04:02 PM

Question Best way to teach a complete beginner?

Yeah, a stupid question, I know. I assume there are as many ways to teach as there are guitar teachers? But when you're first starting to play guitar, what should you look for in a teacher, and what should they be trying to teach you? In my 2nd lesson the teacher is telling me to play the scales in 16 different keys, and talking about arpeggio something, and pentatonic something, and my eyes just glazed over! Since I don't know much of anything yet about guitar, and don't really know where I'm going or what the goal is, maybe this is the right course, maybe not............any thoughts?

2toss
Old 02-05-2013, 04:17 PM

Old 02-05-2013, 04:45 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2toss View Post
Yeah, a stupid question, I know. I assume there are as many ways to teach as there are guitar teachers? But when you're first starting to play guitar, what should you look for in a teacher, and what should they be trying to teach you? In my 2nd lesson the teacher is telling me to play the scales in 16 different keys, and talking about arpeggio something, and pentatonic something, and my eyes just glazed over! Since I don't know much of anything yet about guitar, and don't really know where I'm going or what the goal is, maybe this is the right course, maybe not............any thoughts?

2toss
Hi 2toss...

Hello and Welcome to the forum! Glad you jumped in and started a thread.

Thoughts? Sounds like you are already questioning your teacher. If that's so, whether it's the teacher's fault or not, it seems you have different ideas about what you want to learn.

Is that so?

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...

…Just because you've argued someone into silence doesn't mean you have convinced them…
Old 02-05-2013, 05:51 PM

Larry: