The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-10-2024, 07:36 PM
Charter Member

Default Big Apple, the guitar shop sticks

I'm a 57 year old Native New Yorker. I know, like in all big cities, things change (I tell people when it comes up, I was born about seven New Yorks ago). There's a lot I could complain about in the twists and turns the Naked City has made in the last half century or so, but I'll stay on topic: why is it that in this town; more than twice the size of the next biggest metropolis in the US; with one of the most storied musical histories in the world, let alone this country; with probably the greatest accumulation of wealth per cubic foot of any place on earth; there are so few fine guitar shops?!?!

Yes, gentrification. As a lifelong visual artist, I know a bit about this. I also know that as expensive as it is, there are five boroughs, all of which have pockets of comparatively cheap commercial rents—and musicians would hop on a subway or four, if it was worth it (or a ferry... anyone still remember Mandolin Bros. on Staten Island?).

Yes, there are a few gems. TR Crandall and Retrofret come to mind. But you could put their combined inventory in a corner of one floor of Gruhn's showroom—and Gruhn's of course is not the only saloon in that town . Of course it hasn't always been this way. When I was a kid, I suspect it was the best place in the country to buy a musical instrument of most any kind...

Please forgive the rant, from an aging guitar obsessive, who can't quite understand why I would need to go to Cambridge, MA, or Pittsburgh or Lewiston NH (!) to get my hands on a lot of the finest examples in this region, in this golden age of luthiery.

Grumpily yours,
Ian
Beard resonator Englemann/walnut

Last edited by @lagatrix; 03-10-2024 at 07:42 PM.
Old 03-10-2024, 08:29 PM
Charter Member

Quote: