The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 04-23-2021, 02:22 PM

Default 000-18GE + K&K Pure Mini Disaster: solved?

I've been doing Open Mics now for over three months, and the guitar I chose to play with is my Martin 000-18 Golden Era that has a K&K Pure Mini installed in it. It seems to work very well with my voice, and has the benefit of being a "low maintenance" guitar (no battery, and seemed to always work well at gigs).

Well, that last part changed in the last few weeks. And this was at a venue that I've been at multiple times, where the setup always seemed to work. But two weeks ago, the guitar sounded "tinny" to me (and others noticed, too). OK, the sound is typically run by the owner, who also is up on stage playing a lot of the time, so I didn't worry about it too much. But this week, the guitar sounded HORRIBLE during the sound check (I get there early).

No matter what he did to the sound (I let him deal with it, it's his place and his equipment, and while I know my way around a sound board, I figure it's best not to try to get involved unless asked). Did I say it sounded horrible? Lots of feedback, and the guitar sounded more like an electric piano from the 70's than a guitar. Kind of a cool effect, if that was what I was going for . . but I wasn't.

I ended up using his guitar (also a Martin, and I believe a Baggs Element pickup). It sounded a lot better than mine.

I feel obliged to state AGAIN that this same guitar and pickup worked fine all the previous times I played there (probably 6 - 8 times). I doubt anything changed in my guitar (I did change strings, but I'm pretty sure they're the same ones I was using before). I even went by the guitar store today and had the tech look at the K&K install to see if he could see anything wrong, and he couldn't see anything obvious.