The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-20-2023, 02:09 PM

Default Issues with Zoom

Since there is no "Online Sound" section of this forum, I'm posting this here.

I'm having a problem with Zoom on a new Windows 11 PC. I'm going to ask that you indulge me and read this before telling me about the standard Zoom settings. I have been doing online music with Zoom for nearly three years.

The situation is this: Using all the same settings I've been using for the past three years, Zoom will handle a speaking voice just fine, but not guitar. I have tried the following:

A mic through an audio interface connected via USB.
A mic through an analog mixer connected via USB.
A mic through a digital mixer connected via USB, through a DAW (Studio One 6) and OBS. The DAW output is connected to OBS via the Reastream VST plugin, and OBS is connected to Zoom via a virtual cable or an NDI virtual connection.

All of this worked just fine on my previous Windows 10 system.

I have no sound issues with the DAW or OBS, just Zoom. I can record via Studio One or OBS without an issue. I can record via Studio One into OBS without a problem. I can use my laptop and analog mixer, with the same USB cable used above, without an issue.

I have scoured every online forum I could find, and while I've found others with the same issue and no resolution. Since I do not have a paid Zoom account I can't open a real support ticket--I could only send a short text message that didn't have enough space to describe the problem, and I have not received a response.

As I said, above, I have all the correct settings (Original Sound, etc.).

Any ideas?

2012 Martin HD-28V
1984 Martin Shenandoah D-2832
2018 Gretsch G5420TG
Oscar Schmidt Autoharp, unknown vintage
ToneDexter
Bugera V22 Infinium
Old 01-20-2023, 02:54 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by phcorrigan View Post