The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-24-2019, 04:18 PM

Default PA System - best for most scenarios

Hi folks, I know there are a ton of threads regarding PA's for a solo artist so apologies for adding another one.
I feel exhausted after having read so much on the internet in addition to this forum as well as others regarding PA systems for the solo artist.

I suppose just looking for a few final words of wisdom before deciding on my purchase.
I am a solo artist, playing for many years but starting to perform more in public, coffeehouses and small bars as well as a few outdoor gigs lined up for the summer.

Right now I am renting a Bose S1 PRO which works extremely well and is satisfactory for my gigs. I have even used my Fishman Mini and that has been satisfactory in coffeeshops. I am looking for a system, preferable battery powered, that would allow me to cover small, medium and the odd time larger areas, both inside and outside.

My main gigging gear is:
Eastman E20D with JJB Passive pickup
TC Helicon Harmony Singer 2 (battery powered & power)
LR Baggs Session DI (battery powered & power)
Shure SM58

I am leaning towards the Bose S1 PRO with the ability to add a second unit for larger areas and more volume. I do want the flexibility of battery powered and from what I have read the JBL Eon PRO isn't the greatest and the Mackie Free Play may not have enough volume at times.
I guess having one S1 Pro covers me probably 60% of the time and then adding a second would probably be enough for any situation. At least I think!

If I were to settle on a powered solution, I think I would purchase a Fishman SA330X as it has the features I want and use and the gear I currently have would work well together.

Anyways, any further suggestions would be great.
Cheers.
2012 Voyage Air VAOM-04
2012 Eastman E20D Sunburst
2013 Simon & Patrick Songsmith Sunburst