The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-19-2018, 11:11 AM

Default First Build - Multi scale L Body

Hello everyone! First post on the forum and an exciting one at that. I am currently studying guitarmaking under renowned luthier Tony Karol based in the Toronto, Canada area. It’s a Larrivee L body shape with some modifications to the size, scaled a 1/4” larger. The features for No. 1 are:

German spruce top
Macassar ebony back and sides
Amboyna burl rosette
Amboyna burl tail wedge
Ebony backstrip
Mahogany neck with ebony fretboard
Ebony headstock overlay
Metallic schertler tuners with ebony buttons
24.5 - 26.5” scale length
Gold evo fretwire, 22 clear of the body
Ebony/maple purflings
Nitro cellulose laquer finish

I’ve been a member of AGF for quite some time and it has been an incredible source for all things guitar. Now that I have more technical know how and significant progress with the build I’ve decided to share it within the forum. Pictures to follow!
Old 09-19-2018, 12:15 PM

My regards to Tony - I'll see him at Exotic Woods on Saturday.

He's a good choice as a guitar making teacher. He does very nice work.
Old 09-19-2018, 05:24 PM

Will do! I’ll be seeing him tomorrow. Getting back into the shop after the August break. Couldn’t agree more on his skill and knowledge!
Old 09-20-2018, 11:44 AM

The first and arguably the funnest part of starting a build is selecting the tonewoods. Straight from the sawyer in Germany is of course a wonderful German spruce top.

The Macassar ebony back set. I wanted to build with Macassar for my first guitar and this set just spoke to me; great bookmatched set with incredible figuring. I love the sapwood on either side.

Here is the top all cleaned up and body shape outlined. When rough timber is cleaned up it reveals so much more. This particular top displayed much more even colour and medullary ray.