The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-01-2012, 04:02 AM

Default Free online music theory lessons

Hi guys,

I just wanted to let you know about a blog I've just started. Like many I used to neglect the theory side of my playing so decided to try and help others the way I wish I had been. My idea is to start at the very beginning, and build a structured course covering most aspects of music theory. So you need not know a thing, and hopefully in a few weeks or months you'll have a fairly decent understanding of music theory.

Anyway the address is:

http://intromusictheory.blogspot.co.uk/

The first lesson is very basic, but please do keep checking, I'll be moving onto intervals, chord construction, scales, modes, chord progressions etc etc

Also, since this is my first attempt at teaching, any feedback would be really great. You can either post it here, or email me at [email protected]

Thanks everyone and I hope some of you find it useful...

Greg
Old 07-02-2012, 09:03 AM

Thumbs up

Terrific idea. Hope those that are in need of learning get wind of this blog. Best, J.P.D.
Old 07-02-2012, 10:51 AM

I appreciate what you're doing and why you're doing it!

Fitz
Old 07-03-2012, 09:59 AM

Thanks so much for the kind words guys.

For everyone else, the second lesson is now up and running.
Includes how to construct major scales, sharps & flats and whole steps & half steps.

You can find it here:

If you do find it useful all I ask is a comment on here or a quick bump, just to keep the thread alive and kicking...

Thanks everyone
Old 07-03-2012, 11:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greff View Post
Thanks so much for the kind words guys.

For everyone else, the second lesson is now up and running.
Includes how to construct major scales, sharps & flats and whole steps & half steps.

You can find it here: