The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-26-2023, 03:59 PM
Charter Member

Default The Billy Strings Effect?

It occurred to me that we are witnessing a turning point in the history of acoustic music.

For years now, on this board and elsewhere, it has been lamented that younger generations just aren't interested in acoustic music anymore, that acoustic instrument sales were in trouble, what will happen to all these guitars when the boomers and gen-xers are gone, etc.

It has been pretty well documented that the movie O Brother Where Art Thou lead to a renaissance of acoustic music in general, and bluegrass in particular, for people of my generation (the movie came out a couple years after I graduated college). Though for some such as myself, our interests had been piqued already by reruns of The Andy Griffith Show and Jerry Garcia's collaborations with Dawg and Old and in The Way.

But now, Billy is out there playing bluegrass (more or less) and selling out arenas, drawing fans from across demographics and musical interests, which nobody has done before. At their peak, bands like Yonder Mountain String Band, Leftover Salmon, Greensky Bluegrass, maybe throw Nickel Creek in there, have drawn pretty well, and occasionally sold out places like Redrocks on special occasions, but not arenas week after week, show after show. And those bands always seemed to have much more narrowly defined niche audiences.

I suspect that Billy is going to bring a wave of younger folks along with him. I think this is a watershed. And, while I won't hold my breath that this is the death knell of Autotune, a fella can hope.

Bourgeois DR-A / Bowerman "Working Man's" OM / Martin Custom D-18 (adi & flame) / Martin OM-21 / Northwood M70 MJ / 1970s Sigma DR-7 / Eastman E6D / Flatiron Signature A5 / Silverangel Econo A
(Call me Dan)
Old 03-26-2023, 04:10 PM