The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-14-2008, 11:00 AM

Smile Nagoya N12-18 12 String Guitar Owner

Greetings,

This is my first post to this list. I have been playing guitar since 1964 and started taking lessons in 1966-1971.

I took a few lessons in 2004 when I purchased a Washburn D9c Acoustic 6 string, but my pride and joy is my Nagoya N12-18 12 string acoustic that I purchased from Venaman's Music in 1973. This was a local chain in the 70's & 80's that operated in the Washington DC area.

This is a knock off of a Martin 12 string and still plays like a dream. The store had replaced my original one because the bridge was coming away from the body for some reason. I never had a problem after that. I did have the neck adjusted back in '04. I just started playing this guitar again.

I was wondering if there are any other folks out there that still own a Nagoya acoustic. I understand these guitars were made under that Suzuki Nagoya label and that the factory closed in 1977. If anyone else has any info it would be appreciated.

Regards,

Larry Harris - ComicVent
Old 08-14-2008, 11:28 AM

That 12-string sounds interesting. Any chance of a photo?
Old 08-14-2008, 11:39 AM
Charter Member

Larry,
Welcome to the forum..i am in DC area as well..

i remember Venaman's music..last store was in Springfield, VA..

the guy who worked there (name Steve) is now the store manager of fairfax Guitar center...i bought 3 guitars from him ..

for the Nagoya guitar, i haven't seen that many..
i checked the j-guitar.com ..but still can't see any Nagoya..~

Japanese Guitars that built in 70's and early 80's are great..

used to have Yairi, and yamaha..and loved the sound..~

Goodall Jumbo Royal Hawaiian

Merill & Co C-41

Merill & Co OM-18
Old 08-14-2008, 12:31 PM