The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-16-2018, 02:44 PM

Default Strings question for parlor guitar

Hello,

I am very new to playing guitar, and so far loving it. I've recently traded in my enormous dreadnought (which was damaged and too large-bodied for me) for a smaller-bodied, inexpensive parlor guitar. I was aware I was trading out a warmer sound for a crisper/brighter one by getting a smaller guitar, but ergonimics. It has an incredibly bright sound that I'd like to mellow as much as possible with a new set of strings. (I know I won't change the sound completely by changing strings.) I've read a lot on here about Taylors and changing strings to mellow and warm the sound, but I'd love some recomendations on this especially bright sound and what strings people might recommend that are most likely to mellow it out. It's an Ibanez PN14 parlor guitar.

Thanks!
Old 02-16-2018, 02:51 PM

John Pearse Folk strings (nylon with ball ends). Made by Thomastik-Infeld so high in price and quality like all their stuff, but should last a good long time and may be what you're looking for. Info & a coupla reviews:

https://www.stringsbymail.com/thomas...6-43-5408.html
Old 02-16-2018, 02:53 PM

newtone double wound or martin retros will mellow it a bit. dr rares may be good too.
Old 02-16-2018, 02:54 PM

I use D'A PB xlights on my smaller guitars.
Old 02-16-2018, 06:52 PM
Guest 1511

John Pearse PBs in 12s. Or Martin Lifespan in 12s or Martin SPs. Newtone makes some nice mellower strings too. Stay away from Elyxr (if you want to avoid brightness) and find something in phosphor/bronze. Parlors are not intrinsically bright BTW. Some are, some aren't. Martins, for example, are not.
Old 02-16-2018, 07:03 PM

-Thomastik-Infeld Plectrums are very nice, soft feel, warm tone,expensive.
-La Bella Silk & Steel similar feel and tone to Plectrums, cheaper.