The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-12-2019, 05:42 PM

Default Loudness Meter Plugins

I raised the subject of using Loudness Meter plugins in another thread but it got lost in the shuffle so here's a second effort. It's my understanding they help in establishing volume levels for exporting bounces to different broadcast and streaming services. Any input on loudness meter plugin preferences and other observations on the subject are greatly appreciated. I'm currently leaning towards the Youlean Loudness Meter 2.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMKQeLHYutw

Thanks!
Trevor
Old 03-12-2019, 07:12 PM
Charter Member

I have no idea what they are talking about but as soon as they said the simulation was talking in an English voice, I'd doubt anything it says.
Old 03-12-2019, 07:37 PM
Guitar Gourmet

I work as a sound designer and recording engineer/producer in music, film, and video. At the house where I work we've slowly built up our tools over the years to provide the level management we need. I work with three tools:

For basic level info we use Dorrough loudness meters. They offer the ability to monitor VU and peak at the same time and have a reliable real-time picture of those factors and the relationship between them. They are available as plug-ins.

For analytical work and when we are preparing a show to meet FCC guidelines and to analyze the loudness density of any mix, we use Isotope Insight. This allows us to set goals for program density and then see how the program performs according to those goals. You have a spectrum display, a timeline showing loudness throughout the measured time, and several other tools that show instantaneous and aggregate density for the measured period. It takes some research to understand the system (LUFS) but is important to anyone who does professional work. Insight is a really comprehensive tool.