The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-04-2016, 08:10 AM

Default Acoustic noob question on neck "stability"

Hey guys
acoustic noob here.
Was fiddling around on a mate's acoustic - a custom job done by a local luthier (Italy) - and noticed that there was plenty of buzzing going on between the V and VII frets. He was pretty unfazed, just took out his hex key and set the neck nice and true again.
But here's the point.
His comment was "oh it happens all the time, especially when the weather changes".
It his normal? I mean for a neck to move that much?
Old 03-04-2016, 08:40 AM

Depends on what your mean by plenty of buzzing. However I have to adjust my guitars from summer to winter.
Old 03-04-2016, 08:44 AM
Charter Member

Sounds like he is skirting the boundaries of action too low to me.
Old 03-04-2016, 08:57 AM
Guest 728

I'd say it that it depends on how often it needs adjustment before I'd call it "unstable." As stated above, a couple of tweaks now and then isn't at all unheard of or abnormal, especially if the humidity varies widely from season to season.
Old 03-04-2016, 09:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wpaul63 View Post
Hey guys
acoustic noob here.
Was fiddling around on a mate's acoustic - a custom job done by a local luthier (Italy) - and noticed that there was plenty of buzzing going on between the V and VII frets. He was pretty unfazed, just took out his hex key and set the neck nice and true again.
But here's the point.
His comment was "oh it happens all the time, especially when the weather changes".