The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-14-2020, 02:42 PM
Guest 33123

Default in DAW based home recording, what goes between the mics and the laptop?

Hi guys,

Even though I'm an electrical engineer with a long career in software testing I'm pretty ignorant of some areas of technology, namely DAW based home recording. I've recorded in studios, I used to record back in the day on a cassette based 4 track and I've been using a Zoom H2n for many years but laptop DAW based recording is a mystery to me.

So the basics: Assuming I have some nice guitars, a good sounding recording space, some nice condenser mics and mic placement experience and a recent Mac Book with a functional DAW loaded on it, what goes between the mics and the laptop? What are the essential components? Obviously there would be a mic pre but what else? Is there a good primer page explaining the components in between that you know of?

Putting a home studio together is in the somewhat distant future for me right now but I'd like to understand the components of the recording chain beforehand.
Old 09-14-2020, 02:46 PM

You need an A/D interface to get the analog signal from the mics into a digital signal going into your Mac. There are tons of options.
Old 09-14-2020, 02:48 PM
Guest 33123

Quote:
Originally Posted by midwinter View Post
You need an A/D interface to get the analog signal from the mics into a digital signal going into your Mac. There are tons of options.
So the chain would be: Mics > Mic Pre > A/D interface > Laptop?
Old 09-14-2020, 02:48 PM
Charter Member

The basic functional blocks for the recording chain are mic > preamp > analog to digital conversion > computer interface (i.e. USB) > computer.