The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 07-15-2020, 04:14 PM

Default Newbie advice wanted

I have recently started recording myself and uploading my videos to YouTube. I am using my iPhone with Shure MV88.

Below is my first ever attempt at recording myself:
https://youtu.be/1si3pMvt_mE

And on my second attempt I moved the phone / mic closer:
https://youtu.be/0c8trs4Q4Bs

The recording are low volume, with hiss and lots of background noise, perhaps too much room reverb.

I don't want to invest in much equipment (I want to retain a simple setup), but I want to improve the quality of my recordings. I have very little experience in recording.

Can anyone recommend simple ways to improve the quality of my recordings?

YouTube: "Bluegum Counterpoint"
https://youtube.com/channel/UCbPhfbyWD5qNUT8ehnkoNlg
Old 07-15-2020, 05:49 PM

You still need to move the mike closer. Try 18 inches or even less.

The closer the mike, the hotter the signal - which effectively lowers the room sound in the mix.

At some point, you may get TOO close and overload the mike preamp, at which time you'll need to back off again.

However, it doesn't seem that you are anywhere near that yet.

1978 Larrivee L-26 cutaway
1988 Larrivee L-28 cutaway
2006 Larrivee L03-R
2009 Larrivee LV03-R
2016 Irvin SJ cutaway
2020 Irvin SJ cutaway (build thread)
K+K, Dazzo, Schatten/ToneDexter

Notable Journey website
Facebook page

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art. - Leonardo Da Vinci
Old 07-15-2020, 09:59 PM
Charter Member

Default Treat Your Space

Aloha Tricky Fish,

Nice playing! Nice first cellphone recording efforts. But...treat your space & lose the cellphone.