The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-05-2020, 11:19 AM

Angry Oh Horrendous

Howdy-first time posting here. Got a Carvin Strat clone under my belt, then built a chambered maple quilt-top of mahogany with a Carvin neck, then went to Dale Unger's American Archtop class in Nazareth, PA, and built a 17" Benedetto-style archtop with a Kent Armstrong floating pickup. Now retired to Washington State and starting to build again. Played self-taught since like 1968..
Building a StewMac OM rosewood kit with the "torrefied" top. Got the X-braces and maple bridge block glued in last night..in an attempt to control glue cleanup I used blue painters tape along the edges of two of the tone bars. When the tape was removed, long shavings of spruce came up with the tape..nothing real deep but UGLY. Do I get in between the braces and sand to clean up the shreds? Is there a tape I can safely use on the spruce? Or do I just need to refine my glueing and clamping techniques?
Became a member of the G.A.L. to hook up with the builders community here around Tacoma....planning to be at the convention in July. Nice meeting y'all
Old 03-05-2020, 12:00 PM

A simple way to ensure you don't get tear out when pulling blue painters tape off of spruce is to heat the tape with a blow drier or heat gun and then peel it of while it's hot.

It also helps a lot (even without heating the tape) to pay attention to the grain direction. You want to peel the tape off across the grain, not with the grain.

These same tips apply if you use tape while installing binding.

For the purpose you were using the tape for, you can also reduce the tack of the tape by applying it to your pants leg first, pulling it off, and then putting it on the wood.

Personally, I wouldn't bother trying to "fix" the tear out since it's on the inside of the top.