The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-27-2021, 06:39 AM

Default Aluminum-Bronze by Ernie Ball

Ran across this on another forum. Anybody tried these yet? Here are some comments from that other post (not mine):

"New to me anyway. Aluminum-Bronze by Ernie Ball. I spotted them at Guitar Center and picked up a pack. Pricey at $11.99 too. Just had to get them to try. I haven't put them on yet.

Anyone familiar with these? On the package they claim to have lower lows and higher highs than typical phosphor bronze strings."

"I've been using them on my Martin for a couple of years now. I was intrigued when I noticed so many of the artists at CandyRat gave credit for the strings, because the tone on some of their guitars is so good.

I like them a lot. The tone of the guitar is a lot brighter, and the low end does seem more prominent. And they tend to outlast Phosphor Bronze strings in terms of keeping their brightness."
Old 09-27-2021, 07:01 AM

They are not terrible strings. I get longer then average life out of them. They sound good on some guitars but not most guitars.
Old 09-27-2021, 07:09 AM

I agree with JERZEY. They are not as universal as phosphor bronze strings and my experience is that when on the right guitar they sound great but not so great on others. I've tried them on mahogany tops, sitka, and two different carbon fiber guitars. They sounded best on a carbon fiber parlor to my ears.

One thing you might be disappointed in is that they look used right out of the pack and they turn my fingers and hands black. I can't stand that about them.
Old 09-27-2021, 07:13 AM
Charter Member

I find AB strings work best on dark-sounding guitars. They bring out some brightness. Good on EIR guitars not as much on Mahogany, IMO.
Old 09-27-2021, 07:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jklotz View Post