The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 05-15-2020, 01:59 PM

Default Eastman 805: Poor man/woman's Gibson L5?

Strictly speaking in terms of basic timbre. Not getting into nuances and such like "it doesn't decay the same".

Just curious as I will likely never get the chance to A/B, and I'll never spring for an L5. I like the idea of the mahogany 605, as I'm much more "thud" oriented. But I'm still early in the process and hoping I can mind the wisdom here.
Old 05-15-2020, 04:33 PM

I'm no expert on the current L5. I played one unplugged a few years back at a GC in Seattle and was not impressed. Old 40's Gibson arch tops are a different story....

I own an Eastman MDC 805 mandocello which I converted to an AR 805. I string it with Martin Retro Monel .013's. I love the sound and playability. I prefer it to the one newer L5 I've played.
Old 05-15-2020, 06:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandobart View Post
I'm no expert on the current L5. I played one unplugged a few years back at a GC in Seattle and was not impressed. Old 40's Gibson arch tops are a different story....

I own an Eastman MDC 805 mandocello which I converted to an AR 805. I string it with Martin Retro Monel .013's. I love the sound and playability. I prefer it to the one newer L5 I've played.
Well that's the freakin' coolest story I've heard today! Was it just Nut, saddle, and Tailpiece work?
Old 05-15-2020, 07:40 PM

If we are comparing to a 16" non cutaway L5 of the 1930's, the Loar 600/700 are much, much closer.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 05-15-2020, 07:52 PM
Charter Member

Another person here with an interest in the L5, but never played one. Almost bought a custom re-issue off one of the forums sometime in the last 10 years, but it was a good chunk of cash and based on my little experience playing an archtop I bowed out.