The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-19-2009, 03:44 PM

Default Problems with my Fender Blues Deluxe

What's up guys? I've been having some issues with my 94' Fender Blues Deluxe I wonder if some of you could give me some insight on. I'm no expert by any stretch, but I have some basic generic knowledge of tube amps, just as far as how they work and what makes them sound so sweet.

I typically run the amp on the clean channel with the volume knob turned about halfway up, with my guitar running through a variety of light overdrive and other effects pedals that boost the signal slightly. I would estimate that this pushes the amp to use about 30 of its 40 watt maximum output. After the amp's been pushed for a little while, it gives a nice warm natural overdrive from the tubes that sounds wonderful.

However, recently I've had a problem with it cutting out on me. It happened the first time towards the end of about a 4 hour practice, and another time towards the end of about a 3 hour set. When this happens, the signal completely vanishes and I can't get any sound whatsoever. Both times I took the amp home, switched it on the next day, and it worked perfectly. I'm wondering if anyone else has had this problem, and if this is simply being caused by the tubes or something else in the power amp over-heating. If so, can this be prevented by simply placing a fan behind the amp. Could it be time to change the tubes? Or is this the warning sign of an imminent, more serious problem?

I realize the only way to know for sure would probably be to have a tech have a look at it, but I just thought I would get some opinions here first. Thanks for the help guys, and God bless!
Old 01-19-2009, 05:08 PM
Guitar Gourmet