The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Problems with guitar teacher/lessons (long)... (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158025)

Jack Orion 07-01-2009 01:58 PM

Problems with guitar teacher/lessons (long)...

Hi,

I'm self-taught, been playing about nine years, mainly electric until a year or so ago when I really started concentrating on acoustic.

Started off by wanting to learn 'Angi' (Bert Jansch's version) and taught myself to play it pretty well. Moved on to some Robert Johnson, 30's style blues and some 60s/70s folkies (John Martyn etc) and was reseaonably happy with my progress and the sounds I was getting.

But... I felt my playing had got as far as it could without some outside help, so I started having guitar lessons.

Initially my teacher seemed impressed by what I'd taught myself, but then he proceeded to 'lecture' me about my hand positioning (both left and right) and then gave me some excercises to correct it. Now i knew this would need some work so I spent a week working on those excercises and made some improvements.

Next lesson he gave me more excercises, without going over the first week's.

Then the next lesson he gave me some more, and some sight-reading to learn, and some flamenco progressions... without going over what we'd already done.

At this point i started to think that he's not the guy for me - I decided to give him two weeks and mention that I was concerned we were not going over anything we'd previously done.

We ended up having a long conversation (that took up all of my lesson) about where the lessons were going (something we'd already discussed in the first session). I felt that I was being given too much to work on, and, also, that I would prefer to make slower progress on the technical side of things, but learn more 'music' as we went along.