The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   New (current) songs for acoustic duo (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=504526)

HillbillyWannaB 03-23-2018 11:08 AM

New (current) songs for acoustic duo

I’m doing an acoustic duo with a buddy whom I’ve been playing music with for 20+ years. We pretty much did the classic rock/80’s band thing for most of that time. We have lots of music, but nothing current and to be honest, I don’t even listen to the radio so I have no idea what people are in to.

I picked out some Ed Sheeran stuff that I really like. Just looking for some ideas that the outside deck/pub scene would be into these days. I’m a bit older that the average pub-goer these days.

We’re going to keep a lot of the older stuff, but I need some new (current) material. Any and all ideas welcome based on your experience.

Thanks.

Guest 728 03-23-2018 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HillbillyWannaB (Post 5678444)
I don’t even listen to the radio so I have no idea what people are in to.

I think if you're an artist looking to cover contemporary songs, it's part of your job to stay abreast of what's popular (or at least familiar) to your audience and what fits your duo's specific style and abilities.

I could suggest all kinds of current stuff that I like (Band of Horses, Decemberists, Shakey Graves, Alabama Shakes, Albert Hammond, Jr., Spoon, etc.) but I have no idea if you or your audience would dig it.

Nymuso 03-23-2018 11:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Willie Voltaire (Post 5678471)

I could suggest all kinds of current stuff . . . . but I have no idea if you or your audience would dig it.

And therein lies the key. Do you have an audience that is demanding the current stuff? We don't, so classic rock etc works fine for us.