The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   How difficult is finger style? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=331563)

Jukie 03-01-2014 11:48 AM

How difficult is finger style?

I'm still a beginner and have been working on strumming chords and picking notes. The left hand is figuring out what to do (kinda). How big of a jump is it to finger style?

The notes sound much more pleasing to my ear using that style.

Matt.S 03-01-2014 11:58 AM

I started with fingerstyle. There are songs ranging from beginner to near impossible - find one you like and work at it.

Just my 2cents.

Bucc5207 03-01-2014 12:00 PM

Difficult at first, coordinating your two hands to do different things. Unlike training your fretting hand, no pain is involved. Also, assuming you fret with your non-dominant hand like most people, you have the advantage of learning new skills with your more dextrous hand. The rewards are well worth it, IMO. Good luck!

cpeehler7 03-01-2014 12:01 PM

It's no harder than learning how to flatpick. It'll seem impossible at first, just the same as when you tried changing from a G to a C chord the first time, but give it a few hours, and you'll get a pattern down. I would suggest learning how to play "correctly", focus on proper form. There are tons of youtube videos to help get started. This is the song that I personally learned first... link below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwePlcfJbKE