The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Newbie questions for live setup using backing tracks (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=626512)

gtrplayer123 09-20-2021 07:48 AM

Newbie questions for live setup using backing tracks

Hello everyone,

Thank you for allowing me to post my questions here.

I am an absolute beginner at sound engineering or setup but I know what I would like to do and want to achieve the best method by learning from someone else's experience.

( Gear I have )

I have a Marshal AS50D
Alvarez Shadow burst acoustic with pickup
Voiceplay live pedal

( What I would like to achieve )

I would like to be able to incorporate professionally prerecorded backing tracks (hope no one is cringing here lol ) for various songs that I can generate minus the acoustic guitar and lead vocals for use in a live setup / small pubs

I have been able to use the guitar channel and Mic XLX (both channels) simultaneously fine at home in private setting but am wondering if in a pinch could I actually run the backing tracks through the amp as well. Would it just sound terrible with that much output coming through the amp simultaneously/ or is it even possible?

If the venue has a PA what would be the ideal setup?

THANK YOU for any advice on this.

David from Canada

open-road-matt 09-20-2021 08:55 AM

Welcome to the forum!

I've never used backing tracks so I'm sure that those who do/have will chime in with better answers.

I have a friend who has done this for years and I've run sound for him a few times. He has all of his backing tracks on an iPod (and also carries a backup iPod.)

He then just runs the iPod into a channel on the PA and mixes the audio from his iPod with his vocal mic and his acoustic guitar.