The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Classical (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Falling in love with nylon (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=545588)

Willie_D 04-30-2019 12:25 PM

Falling in love with nylon

I've been playing guitar for so long I ought to be a lot better than I am. I've always been a steel-stringer, more electric than acoustic. The last few years I've devoted a fair bit of time to learning some alternating thumb folk-style accompaniment (think Steve Earle, Townes, Guy Clark, Nanci Griffith, but not as good.) My church lost its accompanist for Taize music, and I stepped up by learning the songs and picking up an inexpensive Lucero classical acoustic-electric at the GC, since Taize is best done with nylon strings.

Darned if I'm not falling in love with it.

It certainly helps that I have extensive experience on the uke, so I'm familiar with nylon; and certainly that I've been doing more fingerstyle stuff lately, even if I'm doing more arpeggiated than folkie accompaniment.

I don't see myself needing to upgrade the guitar anytime soon - it plays great and sounds good, especially since I took care of what little fret sprout there was and polished the frets up nice and slick. Between the onboard eq and the Boss VE-8 I can get some great sounds through the PA, and loop for some drony meditative music.

Man, playing guitar is fun. And this new voice (my first ever nylon string guitar) is sparking fun into my playing again.

Just had to post it.

sirwhale 05-01-2019 12:00 AM

Welcome. I've lost all love for steel strings.

Rudy4 05-12-2019 02:31 PM

Good on ya!

If you end up sticking to nylon then consider jumping in with both feet with a crossover:

http://web.archive.org/web/201603282...Crossover.html

3rd_harmonic 05-13-2019 12:07 PM

Every guitar will take you on a special journey.... unique in some way.