The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Tabs for online guitar lessons recommendations (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=604763)

Jonny0276 01-23-2021 07:39 AM

Tabs for online guitar lessons recommendations

Hi, I’m still a beginner and I’ve been using Guitar Tricks as my main learning resource. It’s very good up until the play along lessons where they have the video on one side of the screen showing the teacher play and the tablature on the other side which auto scrolls along with the song. As you can imagine it can be very hard to follow the teacher and tablature at the same time and is a clunky system to use.

This is especially annoying when trying to learn off a small tablet or phone.

So with that in mind, does anyone know of any lessons that have the tabs appear line by line within the video at the same time the teacher is playing them? Kind of like subtitles.

Only stipulation is nothing on YouTube as I find a software/app is better for tracking progress and keeping on course.

Thanks!

TRose 01-23-2021 09:12 AM

Jonny,
I’m a beginner as well. I find printing the tablature off works best for me. Jerry of Jerry’s Guitar Bar has video lessons that , for me, are super easy to follow along with while having the printed tablature displayed next to my tablet.
Here’s a link.

https://www.jerrysguitarbar.com/

Good luck and I hope that is helpful.

-Tom

NormanKliman 01-23-2021 12:23 PM

Hi Jonny,

Don’t take this the wrong way, but you’re basically asking to learn by being spoon-fed and making the least possible effort. I’m not saying you have to suffer to learn. It’s just that the best-looking teaching material is probably not going to be the best method or material.

Cecil6243 01-24-2021 12:28 PM