The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Looking for a sound like this, mic suggestions? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=538657)

boing 02-20-2019 07:20 AM

Looking for a sound like this, mic suggestions?

This guitar sound fits my style perfectly, any advice appreciated. I have an RPQ2 preamp and Orion32 converter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjqXHe1QwRw

runamuck 02-20-2019 10:05 AM

In my experience, it's not the mic that's all that significant here - it's the player, the guitar, the reverb and other processing.

TBman 02-20-2019 11:15 AM

Large condenser with low self noise. I have an AT2035 with another on the way. I'm far from an expert, but I like the 2035. I have a ribbon mic also, but it has relatively high self noise so there's more work to be done post recording.

The recording in my signature, Nameless, is recorded with the 2035 with it's track doubled then panned. The guitar is in dadgad tuning which I favor as well.

jim1960 02-20-2019 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TBman (Post 5985302)
Large condenser with low self noise. I have an AT2035 with another on the way. I'm far from an expert, but I like the 2035. I have a ribbon mic also, but it has relatively high self noise so there's more work to be done post recording.

The recording in my signature, Nameless, is recorded with the 2035 with it's track doubled then panned. The guitar is in dadgad tuning which I favor as well.

The track the OP referenced has a stereo image. Yours does not so far as I can hear. You won't get a stereo image simply from doubling the track and then panning the identical parts left and right. If one isn't differentiated in some way, it still sounds like it's sitting right in the middle.