The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Show and Tell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   mapletrees can you help me?? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2773)

minorman 04-08-2001 10:40 PM

mapletrees can you help me??

well I guess that's kinda a stupid question. of course you can help me :)
I've been trying to teach myself to read music and I'm having a little trouble...with timing...what makes 6/8, 6/8, and what makes 4/4, 4/4...and so on. I've always been able to bc (that's bs edited) my way through reading music but wanted to take it a little further...I've been playing for about 2 years and it's that time :)
I know you'll be able to help so I'm gona say thanks now
so thanks
james

mapletrees 04-09-2001 10:09 AM

hey...

the top number represents the number of beats per measure

the bottom number indicates what TYPE of note gets one beat..

so...

ex) 3/4 time means three beats per measure, and a quarter note gets one beat....each measure would be counted 1-2-3 (if you saw three quarter notes) or 1-an-2-an-3-an (those are 'and's' without the letter "d"...it's too tough to speak quickly with the d sound) if you saw six eighth notes

ex) 4/4 time means 4 beats per measure and a quarter note gets one beat...each measure would be counted 1-2-3-4 if you saw four quarter notes or 1-an-2-an-3-an-4-an if you saw eight eighth notes

things get a little funny when there is an 8 in the bottom...

ex) 6/8 time would mean there are 6 beats per measure and an eighth note gets one beat...

but what really happens is the following...

6/8 means you feel two groups of three...you count 1-an-uh 2-an-uh...and you accent the numbers....that's a totally different feel than 3/4 time even though the 'fractions' are equivalent...

9/8 means you feel three groups of three...you count 1 an uh 2 an uh 3 an uh