The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Changing from Open Chords to Barre Chords FFFFUUUU (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209520)

Charoitic 03-01-2011 02:38 AM

Changing from Open Chords to Barre Chords FFFFUUUU

I'm really struggling to change from open chords to barre chords without completely deadening all the strings into a very pathetic pause in a song. Please tell me there's something I can do, other than practice.

G ----> Bb maj7
G7 ----> Bb maj7

Thanks for the help!

Hokie_810ce 03-01-2011 07:23 AM

I am no expert by any means but if open chords
Aren't mandatory then I would play G barre chord/G7 barre chord and thEn slide into the Bb maj 7. Curious to know other alternatives though cause I am always looking for alternative chords etc.
Also wonder if you could do power chords for the Bb maj 7. Hum...

rick-slo 03-01-2011 09:08 AM

Good news. Barres are less about practice, practice, practice then about applying proper techniques and not approaching all barre chords the same way. Just a few simple things to keep in mind and you can do a good job with them right away.

mr. beaumont 03-01-2011 09:33 AM

I'd like to see what voicings you're using for these chords before I break it down--I assume the G chords are being played as a third fret barre?

How about the Bb's? Sixth fret, sixth string root or 1st fret 5th string.

The blanket advice I can give for either is "economy of movement." Look at the relationship between your fingers in one chord and the next. Practice making the change with as little movement as possible--if your fingers are coming more than a half inch away from the strings you're losing valuable time.

Tell me about the voicings and we can get specific.

unimogbert 03-01-2011 10:04 AM

Warren Gilmour 03-01-2011 11:37 AM