The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   One Step Forward, Two steps back (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=544519)

Lkristians 04-18-2019 10:50 AM

One Step Forward, Two steps back

Whew. I just took delivery of the presonus usb 96. I did a quick one track recording of my acoustic/electric guitar straight in to garage band and wow...what a difference. I'd previously been using the mic on my computer. Keep in mind, I'm an absolute novice, but enjoying the learning process. So, I'm a bit used to the GB navigation, again, just the very basics. So, with the USB 96 comes the Studio One DAW. I downloaded it, and it seems so complex, that I'm probably going to stick with GB. To add to the confusion, I wasn't even sure if I was downloading the correct version, or purchasing an upgrade. It wasn't very clear. Extremely happy with the quality improvement I'm hearing, but a little frustrated that I am so far behind as it relates to Studio One. Am I missing something? THANKS!

rick-slo 04-18-2019 11:13 AM

DAWs have the ability to do far more things than most users will ever use. You will learn to focus in on the aspects you use and probably set up defaults that match that.

Trevor B. 04-18-2019 11:57 AM

While I don't recommend trying this at home the video below is a hoot!!!

I don't use Studio One but based on how popular it is and a quick perusal of this DAWs editing/mixing features I'd say it's a considerable step up from GB. Just my opinion but the learning curve for basic guitar recording would be well worth the effort.

rmp 04-18-2019 12:13 PM

I had one of the fist ones, I never in a million years thought about running over it with my car.....................
:confused:

Trevor B. 04-18-2019 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rmp (Post 6039837)