The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electric Guitars (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Oh what a difference!!! (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=511537)

RP 05-24-2018 05:23 PM

Oh what a difference!!!

I'd purchased a MIM Butterscotch Standard Telecaster and used an Amazon Gift Card to purchase a set of noiseless vintage pickups. Just got it back from my tech, and WOW, what an improvement on the stock pickups....

3notes 05-24-2018 07:46 PM

Can you tell us more.?? Just an overall cleaner sound.?? Or more.??....

RP 05-25-2018 06:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3notes (Post 5738098)
Can you tell us more.?? Just an overall cleaner sound.?? Or more.??....

I'm not good at putting sound into words, but I'll give it a try. Obviously the 60 cycle hum is gone, but the tone itself seems, well, thicker and richer. It's probably like the difference between an Andrew Wyeth painted in watercolors on a pizza box vs the same painting in egg tempera on a canvas with a nice frame...

KevWind 05-25-2018 06:46 AM

Hey great it is nice when anticipation actually proves to work well , congrats

Steve DeRosa 05-25-2018 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RP (Post 5738333)
I'm not good at putting sound into words, but I'll give it a try...the tone itself seems, well, thicker and richer. It's probably like the difference between an Andrew Wyeth painted in watercolors on a pizza box vs the same painting in egg tempera on a canvas with a nice frame...

We get it, RP - kinda like the difference between plugging your great-sounding guitar into an original '64 Twin Reverb with JAN tubes, and punching up the "Twin" setting on a modeling rig... :sick:

M Sarad 05-25-2018 11:37 AM